Voter ID needed for Police and Crime Commissioner election

Residents across Cambridgeshire are being encouraged to check they have Voter ID for the Police and Crime Commissioner election due to take place on Thursday 2 May. 

Government legislation means all voters must taken with them an acceptable form of ID when voting at polling stations. 

Without it, potential voters risk not having their say in the four-yearly vote to elect a new Police and Crime Commissioner for Cambridgeshire. A full list of accepted ID is available on our website.

The Police and Crime Commissioner acts as the bridge between the public and the police service. They are responsible for delivering an efficient police service in Cambridgeshire. In particular, they must explore opportunities to work in collaboration with other police forces and organisations to seek ways of improving effectiveness and efficiency, thereby providing better value for the tax payer. 

They also award crime and disorder reduction grants to support the police in reducing crime and provide services to help and support victims of crime. They are there to represent the public - not the police - and are there to hold the police to account on your behalf. Both commissioners and the police have a duty to listen to people's views on crime and policing in order to understand local concerns.

This enables commissioners to produce a police and crime plan that is relevant to the local community and that responds to local community needs.

Voters across the county will go to the polls on Thursday 2 May.

The results will be announced on Friday 3 May from the Ross Peers Sports Centre in Soham by John Hill, the Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) for Cambridgeshire. John, who is also the Chief Executive of East Cambridgeshire District Council, has been PARO for the Cambridgeshire Police Area since the inception of the role of Police and Crime Commissioners in 2012. He said: 'It's incredibly important that votes understand what the Police and Crime Commissioner does and why it's so important for them to turn out to vote on 2 May. It's hoped that this information will help voters to feel more confident about the process, and to feel more informed when making their votes.' 

The candidates 

In Cambridgeshire there are three candidates:

  • Edna Helen Murphy - Liberal Democrats 
  • Darryl Preston - Conservative Candidate - More Police, Safer Streets 
  • Anna Smith - Labour and Co-operative Party 

From 10 April you can see what each of the three candidates have to say at on the Choose my Police and Crime Commissioner website (external link) 

The election timetable - key dates  

  • Last day to register to vote - Tuesday 16 April
  • Last day to apply for a postal vote - Wednesday 17 April 
  • Last day to apply for a proxy vote - Wednesday 24 April 
  • Polling day - Thursday 2 May 
  • Results announced - Friday 3 May 
  • Serving Commissioner's final day in post - Wednesday 8 May
  • Winning Commissioner's first day in post - Thursday 9 May 

The Voting process 

Polling stations across the county will be open between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 2 May. A list of polling stations for each city/district can be found using the following links:

Voters will be required to show an acceptable form of Voter ID in order to vote in person at the polling station. A list of accepted ID and further information is available on our Voter ID webpage. If a voter has appointed a proxy or emergency proxy to vote on their behalf, the proxy must bring a copy of their own photographic ID to the polling station. More information is available on our Voter ID FAQ's webpage. Following the close of poll on Thursday 2 May at 10pm, verification of ballot boxes will take place at locations in each city/district council area.

The counting of the votes takes place from 10am to following day (Friday 3 May) at count venues across the region.

Once the count has been completed at all decentralised count venues, the declaration of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Cambridgeshire will be made by the PARO at Ross Peers Sports Centre, Soham, Cambridgeshire.

Candidates will be invited onto the stage and will be invited to make a short speech following the declaration starting with the winning candidate.