MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND SUB-COMMITTEES (INCLUDING SUBSTITUTES) AND OTHER MEMBER BODIES 2019/20

To: Annual Council

Date: 30 May 2019

Author: Democratic Services Manager

[U4]

1.0 ISSUE

1.1 To consider the appointment of Members and substitutes to Committees, Sub-Committees and to other Member bodies for 2019/20.

2.0 **RECOMMENDATIONS**

That Council:

- 2.1 Authorise the Chief Executive and the Monitoring Officer to make amendments to the Shareholder Agreement and terms of reference of the appropriate Committees to facilitate the following changes, specifically:-
 - that the Finance and Assets Committee undertake the 'shareholder' function for East Cambs Trading Company (ECTC);
 - that the Operational Services Committee undertake the 'shareholder' function for East Cambs Street Scene (ECSS).
- 2.2 Approves the appointment of Leader of Council and Chairman, Operational Services Committee to the ECTC Board of Directors.
- 2.3 Approves the appointment of Deputy Leader of Council and Chairman, Finance & Assets Committee to the ECSS Board of Directors.
- 2.4 Approves the appointment of three substitutes from each of the Conservative and Liberal Democrat Groups for the Licensing Committee.
- 2.5 Approves the membership of Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2019/20.

3.0 BACKGROUND

3.1 A list of Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2019/20 is set out in Appendix 1. A number of Sub-Committees and other informal Member bodies were set up in 2015/16 by the relevant Committees and those continuing in 2019/20 will be re-appointed to at the 'mini meetings' of Committees that follow this Council meeting.

- 3.2 Group Leaders have been advised of the number of places available to be filled by their respective Groups on each body under the rules relating to proportionality (see also Agenda Item 14). The details of the proposed membership of Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2019/20 are shown in Appendix 1.
- 3.3 The Council on 21 February 2019 (Agenda Item 12) agreed that the 'shareholder' function for ECTC and ECSS be transferred to the new Finance and Assets Committee. Given the specific remit of ECSS and the delivery of 'front line' operational services, it would seem logical to transfer the 'shareholder' function for ECSS to the new Operational Services Committee (See recommendation 2.1). In addition, following the retirement of former Councillor Charles Roberts as a Councillor, Leader of the Council and Director of the Council's Trading Companies, it has been necessary to review the current Councillor Directors. Recommendations for new appointments are detailed in recommendations 2.2 and 2.3 above.
- 3.4 Arising from the review of the Committee structure and more balanced composition of the Council following the District Council Elections, further consideration has been given to the appointment of substitutes for the Licensing Committee. Having regard to the benefits expressed by the Political Groups of the appointment of substitutes for Planning Committee, the Monitoring Officer has agreed to the principle of the appointment of substitutes for Licensing Committee on the same basis as for Planning Committee, that those substitutes must have attended appropriate Licensing training before serving on the Committee.

4.0 APPENDICES

4.1 Appendix 1 - List of Membership of Committees, Sub-Committees and other Member bodies for 2019/20.

Background Documents	Location	Contact Officer
ECDC Constitution	Room 214B The Grange Ely	Tracy Couper Democratic Services Manager (01353) 665555 E-mail: tracy.couper@eastcambs.gov.uk

COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND OTHER MEMBER BODIES 2019/20

FINANCE & ASSETS	OPERATIONAL SERVICES	PLANNING COMMITTEE (11)	LICENSING COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE (9)	COMMITTEE (9)	6:5 and up to 3 Subs	(10)
5:4 and up to 3 Subs	5:4 and up to 3 Subs		5:5 and up 3 subs
CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE	CONSERVATIVE
Christine Ambrose Smith	David Ambrose Smith	Christine Ambrose Smith	David Ambrose Smith
Ian Bovingdon	Lis Every	David Brown	Lavinia Edwards
David Brown	Julia Huffer	Lavinia Edwards	Julia Huffer
Bill Hunt	Amy Starkey	Bill Hunt	Alan Sharp
Alan Sharp	Jo Webber	Josh Schumann	Jo Webber
		Lisa Stubbs	
Substitutes:	Substitutes:	Substitutes:	Substitutes:
Dan Schumann	Anna Bailey	Lis Every	Christine Ambrose Smith
Josh Schumann	Dan Schumann	Julia Huffer	Ian Bovingdon
Jo Webber	Lisa Stubbs	Dan Schumann	Lisa Stubbs
LIB DEM	LIB DEM	LIB DEM	LIB DEM
Alison Whelan (Lead Member)	Mark Inskip (Lead Member)	Matt Downey (Lead Member)	Sue Austen (Lead
Charlotte Cane	Christine Whelan	Gareth Wilson	Member)
Simon Harries	Paola Trimarco	Sue Austen	Alec Jones
John Trapp	Victoria Charlesworth	John Trapp	Alison Whelan
		Alec Jones	Mark Inskip
			Simon Harries
Substitutes:	Substitutes:	Substitutes:	Substitutes:
Christine Whelan	Simon Harries	Christine Whelan	
Gareth Wilson	Alison Whelan	Charlotte Cane	
Matt Downey	John Trapp	Simon Harries	

COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND OTHER MEMBER BODIES 2019/20

ANGLIA REVENUES		
PARTNERSHIP JOINT		
COMMITTEE		
(1) [22/10/15]		
1:0 and 2 Subs		
<u>CONSERVATIVE</u>		
David Ambrose Smith		
Substitutes:		
David Brown		
Josh Schumann		
LIB DEM		
None		
Substitutes:		
None		